Blue Cheese Dressing

Homemade Blue Cheese Dressing

205-0516_IMG

Blue cheese dressing is my go-to standby in restaurants. Less likely to have too many crazy ingredients that I avoid, like HFCS, vegetable oils or crazy amounts of sodium. I like to think if they’re making it from scratch I’m getting blue cheese, buttermilk, some herbs, salt, pepper, but I might be kidding myself that the mayonnaise is without HFCS and yuck oils, but it’s blue cheese, balsamic or oil/lemon are my go-to’s. 

What to look for in a dressing? Lacking those things flavor imitators, but homemade really has the best of all worlds. You get your probiotics from the buttermilk, your great fats from homemade mayo (egg yolks), more probiotics from yogurt/sour cream and more Umami from the magic of blue cheese and the antioxidant powerhouses of fresh herbs and a slam dunk with the polyphenols from honey.  I got, and you can get some other great inspiration from Blue Cheese recipes on the web from David Lebovitz, Ina Garten, or Food52.  I haven’t exactly perfected my recipe just yet, but it’s getting close, how about you? To be continued….

Basics:

  • Buttermilk
  • Yogurt/Sour Cream
  • Mayonnaise
  • Honey
  • Vinegar
  • Sriracha
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Herbs: Chives, Basil, Parsley and/or Garlic

205-0519_IMG

IMG_0119

205-0534_IMG  205-0536_IMG

Leave a Reply

